top of page

Conscious Conversations Vol. 5: Ally R.

I don't quite remember the first time I met Ally, but it must've started with me not quite knowing what to say to her at one of our then-organization's meetings. It was more of a touch-and-go situation back then. I didn't know how to act, didn't know how to approach her, since back then, everything was strictly business. We worked together on small campaigns in silence from November of last year to late February. It was only until we had to organize a webinar around early March that we truly clicked, and all I know is I wish it hadn't taken us that long. Ally is someone who quite literally makes this world a better place, and I hope I've done my best in showing you that today. #InternationalDayoftheGirl



 


Q1: What was your first introduction to climate change and what made you want to start taking action on the climate crisis personally?

A: My mom’s childhood home was literally beside the beach, and my early years were spent near beaches—Samar being surrounded by sea. When we decided to live in Manila, we still went home to Samar during summer vacations. When we went home, Nanay never failed to notice how much closer the sea seemed to be. She would say, “Grabe kaharani na san tubig sa balay, sadto kaharayo rayo pa siton.” [The (sea) water is too near the house already, it used to be so far away.] Back then I had no idea what was causing this phenomenon; I didn’t know how worrying it was. When I realized what was causing it, I knew I had to take action. I think my passion for protecting Mother Earth started when I was in second grade, when I joined a club at my elementary school called Patrons of the Planet Earth.


My childhood was amazing, and most of my early memories were by the beach and near nature. I want the future generations to experience what I did—to be able to swim in clean seas and rivers, be surrounded by trees, breathe fresh air, and see and hear animals thriving in their natural habitats.


Q2: As a young advocate for climate justice, do you think it’s harder to grab people’s attention and direct them to causes you advocate for? A: I can say it’s challenging. You will deal with different types of people. There are people who don’t believe in what we fight for—even those who do not believe in climate change at all. There are people who question our capacity to affect change—us being merely young people. For them, we’re just kids experimenting or going through a phase. Such people will always undervalue our efforts. But of course, there are more people who are willing to listen and fight with us.


I’m grateful for the existence of social media. I know it can be toxic sometimes but it gives us, the youth, the platform for our voices to be heard, the opportunity to reach our intended audience, and to raise awareness for the causes we believe in. It gives us the chance to make new connections, to share world-changing ideas with peers.


Q3: How has climate activism changed your perspective on the future and life in general? How do you think people in developed countries could possibly help and support vulnerable individuals from developing nations? A: The future is ours to shape and all our actions—even the littlest ones—will affect this world. I also realized that I should always recognize the opportunities and resources given to me because not everyone is given such. I learned that I should be grateful that I am able to fight for things and causes that I want to fight for because there are people who can’t afford to do so. We should be fighting for those who are unable to fight.


Solutions to climate change should be context-based. Developed countries should ask and communicate with developing nations regarding the solutions they need, and they shouldn’t force us to follow “solutions” that they’ve created for their countries. Poorer nations, like ours, have fewer resources, making it difficult for us to follow solutions created by developed nations.


Q4: Personally, what do you think is the best part about climate activism? What keeps you hopeful in spite of all the grim statistics that show up each day? A: It’s the people I work with. Not only do I get to fight for the same things with them but I also get to learn new things from them every day. They are the reason why I know there is hope. The fact that they are here with me makes me want to continue fighting. The youth being more aware and becoming more engaged in climate activism also gives me hope—10-15 years ago, climate change rarely got talked about in schools, but now I often see youths talking about these issues.


Q5: How do you balance being a regular student and actively volunteering at different organizations? Do you keep your lives separate or do you have no qualms about having the two mesh together?

A: I am not gonna lie, it's not the easiest thing in the world. College demands so much time from us and honestly, sometimes, it doesn’t leave us time to take care of ourselves anymore. You’ll feel tired and on the days you rest, you'll feel guilty because it will make you feel like you aren't doing enough. The pandemic has even made this worse because even our rest time at home is used up for studying and working. What works best for me is jotting everything down on my planner, delegating time for each task, and making sure I finish the tasks during the allotted time. My work on climate change, however, often does not feel like work as this advocacy is close to my heart.


Q6: Do you have any advice for anyone wanting to take baby steps in the climate justice movement but are still a little hesitant or too afraid to?

A: If not now, when? If not you, then who? Don’t be afraid, do it. The world is waiting for you.


Q7: Lastly, how do you prevent yourself from feeling burnt out from all the negative news on the environment? Activist burnout is a thing we’re sure most climate activists experience, so if it’s okay to ask, how do you deal with feeling helpless in the face of issues as large as climate change?

A: I tell myself that it’s okay to take a rest, that resting will not undermine all the efforts I and my friends have put in. I remind myself that no matter what little changes our actions create will still make a difference. Small changes make a big difference.



 

In life, there are people you meet because their story needs you. In some cases, it's the other way around, you meet someone because your story needs them. I'd like to think the latter happened with me and Ally. After nearly a year of knowing her, we now share our very own organization, Mission Isla, with a few of the most incredibly driven people we know -- people we're so lucky to call our friends and not just colleagues. Every single member of the core team is indispensable, but it is Ally's spirit that keeps us all together. We are so lucky we get to share her with the world she is bound to change (and is already changing!), and we are so lucky that her actions inspire young women all over the country, from Samar and back.

コメント


bottom of page